....oh when the saints go......

Up eary this morning for my day with the bathroom fitters.......just me and them.

They arrived and greeted me and then hung about in the hallway for a bit.

"Come on guys, chop, chop!" I said......"Er, your missus normally makes us a cup of tea first" they replied......I wanted to say "Well I'm not my missus am I?".....but instead I just raised an eyebrow. When another hesitation followed I said "Oh, I've already had breakfast, I won't be boiling a kettle until about 10.30".

They went off to work....I went out to put petrol in the car and when I got back there was only one of them busy tiling. I asked him when the job would be finished...he blustered a bit....I raised an eyebrow again...and then he said "Probably next Thursday"......I turned away.

He had a long wait for his tea.

I hung around until 2.30 so he couldn't disappear early and then set off for Dad's. The rain followed me all the way here....I managed to do the 100 miles in just over two hours and arrived in a deluge.....and it hasn't stopped raining since.

Dad is still vague about exactly what happened yesterday....but we did have a little chat about what happens if his car is a write off........he tried to convince me he needs a car....but he also admitted that he doesn't feel safe on the roads....so we left it at that until he gets the verdict from his insurers.

I phoned the Boss tonight....and told her about the suggestion that the bathroom wouldn't be finished unil Thursday....I also told her about overhearing them talking about needing to start another job early next week....even her patience is beginning to wear thin...they're not leaving our job for a couple of days and starting someone else's........so she is now going to have words on Monday.

Watch this space.

Today's blip is a statue of St. Francis of Assissi in Dad's garden.....I know why he's there...he was my Mum's favourite saint.....but quite why he's staring through the patio doors into the dining rom I'm not sure......I also have a good idea why he's got a rabbit beside him (patron saint of animals)....but I can't for the life of me work out why there's a Teddy Bear with him...or even who's Teddy he is!

Das vidanya moy padruga.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.