Simply Me

By Suze981

I'm a SOL runner

Well now the marathon is out of the way and I've had a couple of weeks relaxing, it's time to start training for my next running adventure!

On 17 August I will be running in the Speed of Light. NVA's Speed of Light is one of four national projects, which aims to build a lasting legacy from the UK's hosting of the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

It's basically part of the Edinburgh festival, where I'll be up on the hills surrounding Arthur's seat, wearing a light suit. I'll be trail/hill running in the dark for a couple of hours and I'll make up part of a massive choreographed light show. You can get tickets on the eif website if you want to come and watch me!

I started to panic today that I haven't trained for it. My training should consist of trail and hill running at night. So I set off tonight at 8 to get a feel of what it'll be like. My actual training runs should be in darkness, but this was just a reccy so I figured this was fine.

It was a lot different to marathon running (clearly) but I quite enjoyed it. I do think I like hills. I only did 40 minutes, but it was good. My glutes and thighs will probably feel it tomorrow though!

One thing I did learn was that my old marathon trainers aren't going to cut it! I was slipping today in the dry and in the daylight. In the dark and potentially wet, it could get treacherous. I'm off to research trail running shoes!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.