Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie is a star!

Back home. What an adventure! Lovely weather, lots of walks, wine by the river watching the occasional salmon leaping.

The B&B was amazing. When I say it must be the best breakfast in Scotland, I'm not exaggerating much. We started with the most beautifully presented fresh fruit salad (figs, lychees, raspberries, red currants, pomegranate, cherries, blackberries to name but a few). It was served with wee dishes of honey, granola and yoghurt. I wish I'd had my camera! The Full Scottish followed (at my request, minus black pudding and haggis - so only 'Half Full'...) and was beautifully served too. And then a basket of toast, croissants and wee pastries appeared with extra coffee. Divine!

Everyone made a fuss of Archie, and he was served his own breakfast sausage!

Archie had so many (off the lead) riverside walks. He'd had his first off the lead walks here last year when he was a wee puppy, and we realised that he wouldn't just run off. He met so many people and dogs, and had such fun (even slept on the bed!).

He was very good on the train, but the journey home was rather trying for him. A quiet start, but after a couple of stops we were invaded by a very noisy family. Squealing toddlers (only two of 'em - but sounded like a crowd). They were eating sweeties constantly, and the mum ignored them and fiddled about with her phone. Wee Archie turned his face away and tried to sleep on JR's lap. I could see his ears moving at each loud squeal. Poor wee lad. And not once did a little 'harrumph' escape his lips. I can't say the same for myself... but at least I could put my headphones in and drown them out!

We're already planning our next visit to this wee gem in the wee gem that is Pitlochry. But we'll let Archie recover from this one first.

PS We went over the Forth Rail Bridge twice. It's now listed as a World Heritage Site.

PPS Archie is soooo tired, he slept all evening - right through his tea time!! Unheard of...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.