Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Hospital Day Six!

I had a request (yes!) to show a breakfast. Perhaps you're all too jealous to see delicious meals every day, but they may give recipe ideas (possibly with a bit more flair in the presentation department). Today's lunch was a real hit - chicken in black bean sauce with vegetable rice. So here is breakfast - unfussy and practical - cornflakes, toast and jam and a cuppa. Tea tonight: sausages (of indeterminate origin), gravy, mash and carrots followed by clotted cream rice.

I must mention the shower. It looks like a normal shower, but the water doesn't actually drain away through the drain. Instead, it floods the whole room and heads out under the toilet door! The poor nurse had to stand and use a huge windscreen wiper to mop it up as fast as I flooded it. It's a new hospital! I've got more efficient now that I know it's not a shower as we know it.

Archie's 'turns' are shorter, more frequent, and usually in the mornings. But the rest of the time he has a great time doing doggy things. He's been out with Elizabeth today, walking for miles, meeting lots of dogs, getting mucky. Elizabeth takes him home and washes, dries and plays with him some more before he comes home. I think he's had the best day!

I've been enjoying Kabul Kitchen downloads, they're laugh-out-loud funny in places. Finished it now. I'm going to start watching 'The Hunter', another French series. Just as well I've got another couple of box sets downloaded, as I'm in a bit longer than anticipated. Though I did anticipate this. Mind you, at times, I just have to give up, because I can't hear the soundtrack with all the various shouted conversations going on around me most of the day. But at least I'm mobile and can escape and to the lounge for peace and quiet.

Wonder if they'd notice if I moved my bed there...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.