Common Hawker

I've been dive-bombed by these on many occasions when I've been up to Christian Fields (the nature reserve on the north side of Eastern Avenue in Lichfield, Staffs), but I've never caught one posing. So, voila - a Common Hawker Dragonfly.

It's the Big Butterfly Count 2015  again.  It started last Friday and I've logged the whites and small tortoiseshell I saw in Eastbourne.  I decided to go in search of what was flying around in the most prolific butterfly spot locally.

I've had virtually nothing in the garden so I didn't expect much - but after a few minutes I saw so many.  There were Red Admirals on the buddleia.  Commas both in the bushes and on the ground. Meadow Browns fluttering. Small and Large Whites. Cheeky Gatekeepers (extra photo). Small Tortoiseshells and a Skipper.

And a total wreck (or a new species) but I think it's a meadow brown that's been out on the town (extra photo)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.