The Yellow Gold

For the first time this season, we headed out to the mushroom forest this morning, since heavy rain was promised for tonight. In case you are wondering: yes, we do have a particular one that we only visit with this one purpose: to hunt down golden chanterelles. I know, it's weird.

It's something with Swedes and yellow chanterelles. If you say you have found a shopping bag of golden chanterelles at a very secret spot deep down in the forest during the weekend, everyone will be in awe and think you are a rock star or Zlatan. Very few things will earn you greater respect than that. Yet, last summer when I learned how to find them in less than fifteen minutes, I was rapidly un-learned. Why? Because I ate them on the spot.

So, today mum told me SHE would find them and pick them, and I was to just come along and watch. Now, how weird is that, considering I have forty times more scent brain capacity than her (I heard this on TV tonight)? Anyway, that's basically what happened. Mum was very upset about the wild boars having destroyed most of her secret places, but in the end we did find some. Not a shopping bag, but enough for a couple of meals. We are now safe and dry inside, while the rain is pouring down outside.

I could be Zlatan, you know. If you would just let me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.