madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Chicken Quest!

I was woken by an earth shattering clap of thunder this morning - my sister was already up and said the electricity went out before the thunder hit! We spent the morning with me looking at blip and her doing a cross stitch of Alice In Wonderland! Once the rain stopped and blue patches began to appear in the sky we grabbed Portly and set off once more to Cotehele - she was going to buy me a pottery chicken I have admired for quite a while! 
The light was just gorgeous on the trees and she very patiently waited as I took photographs - as did Portly! The pottery was open and as I discussed chickens and prolapses with the potter another shopper quipped " so you could say the bottom has fallen out of the egg market!" Made me laugh so much I couldn't hold the pen steady to write the cheque! The storm in the am had fried their card readers and they were waiting for a BT engineer! Luckily I carry a couple of cheques in my bag for just such emergencies! 
We then sat on a bench and ate ice creams - Orange, mandarin and cointreau for me, strawberry and white chocolate for her! None for Portly although she stuck her muddy paws over the both of us in her trying! She rapidly hid under the bench when I told her off! 
Once home sister and I decided Cotehele was possibly the best NT estate due to the variety of places there - house, gardens, orchard, tower, quay, water mill, saddlery and pottery! But we are possibly biased! We also concluded that between us we have quite a few interests and solitary activities  that give us immense pleasure. We couldn't quite understand those people who seemed to have none that didn't depend on others or required no creative or physical input. My sister works full time as a teacher and even when I worked I had the same amount of interests, but was just not able to spend as much time with them as I would have liked! For both of us it is a matter of incredulity  and genuine incomprehension - what do other people do?!! Reading other peoples Journals they are full of interests aside from photography and I'm amazed at how diverse peoples interests are and how talented they are at so many things and at how much they squeeze into their lives. If one has one  interest, does this spawn others? Do they expand ones interests, or does it all flow from some genetic source?
This whole discussion sprung from my blip - why should we both find the potters brushes so appealing? Because they represent the article they will be used to make, because they are arranged in a visually appealing manner, for as an artist he even arranges his working environment  beautifully? I have no idea! But we both agreed on what i would be blipping from our quest for a chicken! The rest of the could of but didn't blip are here if you do not find this as appealing as we do!!
P.S. you can see an unglazed chicken if you look closely at this photo! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.