Taking a Stroll

I didn't sleep much last night, not that I was in any pain, but it was so warm! Also they wanted me to sleep upright and I couldn't get comfortable, so I was awake at 5.30am.

The day's gone quick though, starting with a visit from my surgeon - he's happy with everything so far and will come back tomorrow morning and decide whether or not I can go home.

Then after breakfast, my nurse Jeanette helped me to have a shower, so I felt more normal when Alan arrived. We watched the Belgian Grand Prix and then we went for a little stroll in the grounds. They have a statue of a cow and a sheep, so I thought it made a good blip for today with the view across to the sea.

Alan went home for a few hours to be with the boys and also to have something to eat, but just before he left, my friend Barbs came to visit, followed by Alison & Tony. Then Alan returned and Sue came to visit. And now it's time for bed!

There are only 3 other patients left here with me, so it's very quiet. The others are all transgender - apparently this hospital is a renowned clinic, and they come from all over the country.

Oh, and the other thing I started to do today is to write a book about my journey!

We heard today that one of the people killed as a result of the air crash yesterday was the husband of one of the cleaners at the hospital. He was driving a vintage Daimler wedding car and was on his way to collect the bride. His son also works here but is on holiday in Thailand, and they can't get in touch with him. So far there are 11 people who have died, and they think there could be even more. It's such a terrible tragedy and my thoughts are with those poor people and their families.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.