Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Rufus visits. And doesn't cry the whole time!

JR and Rufus's mum were off to another Fringe show, so Rufus came to stay for the afternoon. Did he cry and wail the whole time like last time? No! We were out in the back garden, and he was nowhere near the door his mum disappeared through, so he was suitably confused. He pottered about in the garden, ignoring Archie, who reciprocated. Mind you, it wasn't exactly sitting-out-in-the-garden weather, but it was worth it for a peaceful afternoon. And I did get a bit of my book read.

The show was a great success - a one man Kiwi show called The Bookbinder. JR likes to support Kiwi shows. We even saw Flight of the Conchords years ago before they were famous.

We then took the dogs up the hill. Well, I sat on my bench while the others walked to the top. Archie ran down from the top of the hill, responding to my whistle, but when he ran back again to look for JR (who had come down a different route this time) he got a bit disorientated, and eventually a man came towards me from the opposite direction carrying him - he'd come across him 'looking lost' - that"s what happens when you're only one foot high and there are big bushes and lots of paths all around. Nice man. I think he'd seen us at the bench the other day and knew where to come.

I also did my civic duty - no, above and beyond my civic duty - by picking up all the dog poo from around the two benches. Such ignorant people!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.