Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie: Street Perfomer (No 8)

Another Royal Mile visit. Time is running out... A warm (ish) sunny morning - actually, the weather hasn't been too bad for the Fringe this month, considering the terrible July we had.

Waved to our friends the Bubble Lady and the Horny man, but it was Nelson who caught our eye this morning, as he toned in with Archie.

Nelson asked if I would send him a photo, but he's only on Facebook or Twitter, and I think I have to log in before I can send a photo. And I don't want to. Why doesn't he have a simple email?

When I came home, I spent an hour and a half (yes, AN HOUR AND A HALF) on the phone to Virgin Media. Reception on my mobile phone is, and always has been, useless. If JR sent a text eg 'NEED MILK?' It would arrive about four hours later. And it could have been very important from me (eg 'BRING MALTESERS'). It was impossible to ring each other, though those calls between Virgin phones are free. 'This number is unavailable'. I've rung many times to complain, but was told I was in a 'blackspot' so - TOUGH. (Inferred, not actually stated).

Last time I rang, they sent me a new SIM card, but no joy. Today we tried all sorts. Swapping SIM cards. Re-setting this and that. They came to conclusion it was my handset. Too old. (4 years old!). So I decided there and then to take them up on their offer of a basic iPhone 5 for a reasonable monthly tariff. And I got one for JR too. Little did I know this would involve an hour of rigmarole.

First of all, a security check. 'But I've been with you for 15 years!'

THEN she 'had to' read out the endless terms and conditions, with the occasional grunt from me. AND THEN she had to repeat the whole process for the second phone, even though it was the same Direct Debit. I was really really wishing I had not started!!!

JR went to see the Craft Fair, and came back raving about an artist. Very tempting...

Archie was whisked off this afternoon with Bailey and her mum. And later this afternoon Archie is going to meet his new dog sitter for a trial overnighter. Though he doesn't know it yet... We might go out for tea, so that we don't miss him too much on the sofa...    :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.