Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Courgette cake?

JR and Archie went up the hill this morning while I roused myself slowly. Sometimes I waken in the wee sma' hours, can't get back to sleep again, and listen to iPlayer radio on my iPhone with headphones. But then I get drowsy again when it's time to get up.

JR then went off to see a Kiwi show at the Traverse in the afternoon, which she enjoyed very much. It featured Kiwi music from her youth, and was set in the town she was at teachers' college in.

I attacked the top of the bit of the hedge that I can see from the sofa. I find that a top trim between the two whole cuts is sufficient. I was standing up at the very top of the ladder, well above the hedge, which caused some consternation for passing neighbours.

Archie is pretty perfect, but he is a bit very yappy. I found the anti-bark collar, which I thought wasn't working, and put it on him. What a transformation... It was great out the back too, he ran across to the neighbour without barking his head off. The neighbour had been up at his allotment, and seems to have a never-ending bumper crop of courgettes. Archie was poking his nose in the bag, of course. I'm sure he'd like it, but it's not for him, it's for a courgette cake.

JR today had a beetroot sandwich for a snack. A beetroot sandwich!! She claims it's a Kiwi thing, but in my 25 years living there, I never saw any Kiwi eating one. I think the Kiwi show, with the Kiwi music, has brought forth her inner Kiwi. In fact, a few times already a few bars of 'She's a mod * has slipped out.




* By Ray Columbus, pop star heart throb in the 60's New Zealand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.