Jack James

By JackJames

Wet again today, Sean off to work, any everyone else seemed to be busy, so I was at a bit of a loss as to what to do with myself. It ended up being fairly productive - cleaned the oven (major job), packed a huge and heavy box of stuff to go back to Bath, and went for a jog around Arthur's seat with Tom.

The jog was great - we headed out in the pouring rain, knowing full well that we'd soon be soaked to the skin. There's something liberating about that - knowing that you're going to get wet, that there's nothing you can do about it - so enjoy it! I did just that - diving headfirst into a puddle that had collected on the rain-sodden ground along the Queen's Drive.

As it turns out, water that's been sitting in a puddle gets a certain whiff about it, and I smelt like pond for the rest of the jog. Not the nicest.

Back at the flat, a long hot shower and clothes in the wash to decontaminate. Starting to think about going home soonish, but still waiting on a document from the International Office. It's getting me a little stressed if I think about it too much, as I need to get these documents off before the end of the month. I've still got a good week and a bit, but it doesn't leave any room to sort out cock-ups.

Booked a courier to take my motorbike back to Bath in the end - I just couldn't face the 500-odd mile trip back after the trip up here took so much out of me! I think Mum couldn't have been much happier when I told her that I wouldn't be coming back on the bike. If I was going to do another long trip by motorbike, I'd invest in some kit that was worth it's metal - which would include a bike capable of travelling more than 63 mph. Believe me, that's not a speed you want to be doing on a British motorway.

Annoyingly, the guys who take the bike have given me the date of "sometime this week" so I may have to just leave the bike out, and hope they get the right one. Although, mine is by far and away the worst out there, so I could be looking at something much better if they don't!

Jesse should pop by on his way down from Stonehaven tomorrow, though won't be joining me back to Bath, which is a shame. It would have been nice to have someone to share the load of the journey, both in time (almost 7 hours!!) and conversation. I'll have to take a few books.

Tomorrow looks brighter, hope to get out on the (push) bike once the horror of this documentation is over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.