Joe's Blips

By joesblips

Apprehension

First off, many thanks fr all the comments and hearts arising from my blip of yesterday. All greatly appreciated. What I didn't tell you was that 1. I thought I had left the remote release at home so had to shoot the long exposures off the tripod while using the self timer. Needless to say, when I emptied my bag on arrival home, there was the remote nestling in the bottom. I had it all along.  2. The shot which I uploaded was not what I was really after. I left my ND Grads at home and simply couldn't balance the exposure for sky/hills and water. What I was looking to do can be seen as an extra shot today.
This morning I was up an hour earlier and back to Glendalough again, hence the making of the extra shot. I put in a beautiful, lonely hour and a half of photography and captured some nice rushing water eddies for my troubles before it was time for the swimming race in the freezing waters of the Upper Lake. 3,900 metres in all. A proper test of endurance. Is it any wonder that this guy, waiting on the start line had a startled look of apprehension on his face?
I might just add that the reason the lake is always cold is that it's very very deep having been scooped out by a retreating glacier during the ice age. It must be as deep as the mountains are in height along its shores. No wonder he looked apprehensive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.