Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

St Ignatius...

..He's looking down upon us from his rather splendiferous frieze, surrounded by cherubim and probably seraphim.

It's been an Open House day in Oxford City Centre today.
We took advantage and visited some places where the public is not normally allowed.
I'm so pleased we took advantage of the opportunity.
(There are some Serious Treasures in Oxford).
St Ignatius (and I think he's the 'Of Loyola' one) resides in Campion Hall, a lovely building mostly designed by Edwin Lutyens.
I was taken by the life-like expression and stance here. The frieze is very large (I had the wrong lens with me, obviously.. It's a knack) probably measuring about twelve feet square (I didn't bob about with the measuring tape, so don't quote me).

So then we had a lttle Oxford mooch..
(No bargins).

I experienced some fairly sharp foot pain, which was sad, as I thought the foot was improving.
I've decided to do the dreaded 'Going Back To The Doctors'.. I say 'dreaded', because this is where, in my experience, one feels the beginning of a label growing on the forehead, saying 'Look, I'm a Bit of a Timewaster, and a Swinger of Lead, and I Fully Anticipate You Won't Know What to Do With Me and My 'Imagined' Problem'...

However, with utter positivity, I shall present myself in expectation of a miracle cure. I should have had a word with St Ignatius perhaps?
Though I think he had a bad leg? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.