Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Oh No! Not the Red Coat!

A dreich day, but for some weird reason I hung out the washing, then put on another load. It then started pouring, so I now have damp washing all over the place, with the central heating on. The place looks like a Chinese laundry (if I'm allowed to use such an expression these days). I could have should have waited till tomorrow, which looks more promising.

I fiddled about on the computer (which is really struggling to complete simple tasks - a new one soon?) all morning until Archie's pleading wee face on my leg worked its magic, and we got ready for a wet walk.

I lifted his red coat down from the hook, and he scuttled off to 'hide' by the back door. He hates wearing it. I put it on him, then got my coat, poo bags, keys etc and went back to get him - he had not moved a muscle! I carried him, giggling - me, not him - to the lounge to take a photo. Not happy. And look at his normally curly sticky-up tail! However, he'd forgotten about it by the time he reached the Meadows and scampered off full of the joys.

And so there's nothing for it but snuggle up on the sofa this afternoon with a damp dog, and catch up on some recorded TV programmes -oh look! there's a rugby match on! - and share a Magnum. I use the word 'share' loosely - Archie only gets a few wee teensy licks at the end...

Suitcases out. Something's up, eh, Arch...

PS Just had a message from Bailey - she and her mum are up Ben Lomond. In sunshine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.