Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A rare sighting...

Last night Archie wanted out. He never wants out in the night. We've gradually been changing his main meal to the evening, but this has obviously disturbed his innards. Back to what he's used to.

Long awaited news today of a friend who had major surgery. Simple message: 'Patient recovering. Wife a wreck.' Mind you, I had to be down the road before I got it - no reception in the house!

I went to the nearest cafe, as typing on the phone while walking along has not yet been mastered. The place was hoachin'. But Archie and I had the window seats (I did ask if he could sit up for a photo!). I used my wee fisheye lens with my iPhone camera. And yes, those eyebrows need a wee trim...

From there we went to see Uncle A. He has a nice view of green fields out of his lounge window. And this morning he saw a rare golden plover! He was always a keen bird watcher. He rushed to get his binoculars, but was somewhat disappointed to see not a golden plover, but a discarded beer bottle shining in the sun... Not so rare!

We then took the bus into town and had a walk back home through the Meadows. It was so sunny and warm! And who should we meet but young Leo and his Gran. He's getting so tall.

I have at last sprung into action as if I'm going on holiday tomorrow... This afternoon JR took Archie up the Hill, so I was able to do things he likes to 'help' with - putting the rubbish out, dusting (use lots of spray polish - gives the impression of plenty of elbow grease having been used).

When he came back he had a bath. Ready for his girlfriend Bailey coming to stay tomorrow. Though he doesn't know it...

He's now charging round the house like a mad thing.

There will be two of 'em charging round like mad things tomorrow.

Good luck J!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.