Bori 2005-2015

A very devastating day today for me and for my mom back home. Bori, my beautiful and loyal cat, took her last breath at around 1:05am, Oct 11, 2015 (Philippine Time). This year has been tough for my Bori. Early this year, she had a breast tumour that was successfully removed. She recovered and was back to full health until almost two weeks ago when she got very ill. The vet said she had kidney failure and uterine infection (after giving birth to a stillborn kitten). Bori stayed for a few days at the vet last week but was taken back home two days ago after showing signs of recovery. She however deteriorated quickly within two days. My mom has been crying since then. Today in the wee hours of the morning (around 1am), my mom was awoken by a noise coming from Bori's box. Apparently, Bori was kicking the box to deliberately wake my mom up. She checked to see how she was doing and in that moment saw that Bori took her last 3 breaths before she stopped breathing.

I didnt get the message of Bori's death (my mum immediately sent me a Facebook message when Bori died) until an hour later since i didnt check my tablet. I immediately called my mom when i read the message and she started crying as soon as she answered the phone. I was very devastated (and still am) and shed a few tears. I was holding back my tears because I know I couldnt stop crying if i did start crying with her. Although the longer i was trying to calm my mom down, tears were welling up in my eyes. I tried to make my mom laugh at some silly jokes and was succesfull thankfully. She said "Thank you." And then we hung up after 5mins of talking.

Even if this is such a sad moment for me, I am also happy that Bori has ended her suffering. The year has not been good to her and the operation early this year has already been hard for her. She has lived a good life. She had been with us for almost 11 years. She wasnt the sweetest of all cats but she shows you care in ways which are not conventional. She has been my mom's companion after my Dad died almost 5 years ago. And even before that, she has been everybody's beautiful snobbish cat who likes to sleep on top of loaves of bread. She was and is always be my Bori. Thank you for allowing us to take care of you Bor and thank you for giving us the happiness that we needed which we probably did not know we wanted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.