Kendal

Despite the fact that our offices are on the outskirts of Kendal, it's rare that I go into the town. In fact, the only reason I regularly go in is to have coffee with IntoTheHills. The reasons for not going in more often are twofold: the absurd one-way system and the difficulty of parking. (And if I didn't have a parking permit, the ridiculous price of parking would be a third reason.) 

Today, though, I had to pop into town to pick up a key. The weather was surprisingly good and I found myself quite enjoying the walk through the nearly pedestrian precinct, which is rendered hazardous to those on foot by the fact that taxis and buses are allowed through it. 

I can't help feeling that Kendal hasn't got it quite right, although I'm not sure what might put it right. At the moment its nickname of 'The Auld Grey Town' seems too appropriate, and not just for how it looks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.