Fire!

This is the new Kindle Fire. I didn't really need another device but I bought it for two reasons. The first was that it was only £50 and while that hardly makes it 'disposable' it does mean I can take it to places where I wouldn't take my iPad or my Kindle Paperwhite. 

The second reason was that for a further fifty quid I can expand the total memory up to 136GB, which is just about enough to store all my music. I do have an iPod Classic but the interface is a bit limiting plus the recent release of iTunes has made such a hash of my music library that I've started using Amazon Music a lot more. 

It's funny how companies and products in apparently indomitable positions can suddenly come a cropper. I can remember when IBM seemed invincible and then Microsoft arrived on the scene. And just when it seemed impossible that anyone could knock them off their perch, along came Google.

As recently as last year, I don't think I could really imagine anything replacing the iTunes and iPod combination in my life but some nifty work by Amazon combined with some terrible development of the iTunes software on Apple's side suddenly puts me in a whole new world as far as managing and carrying my music is concerned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.