Lost!

Well not lost as such, I just went a little wrong! The Moscow Metro is I think, (so don't quote me on this) the largest Metro system in the World. But it's definitely the most confusing that I've encountered! Cheap, fast and efficient it is, but the distinct lack of English signs must have most non Russian-speaking/non Cyrillic-reading visitors scratching their heads. Not only are there 173 stations and ten lines to fathom, but to add a little more excitement to your journey, each interconnecting station has a different name for each line that stops there. Quite!

So I ended up on the wrong side of town tonight (in just two stops) when I was on my way to meet Andrew and Barry in their 'hood. I managed it in the end though and saw their hostel before venturing into a local 'Elephant' restaurant/bar for supper. It was their choice: they thought, or rather hoped, that it was the same chain of establishment that they frequented in Beijing. Alas, they were disappointed when the only entertainment was Classic 80s on Satellite telly, rather than the Cuban dancers that they had hoped for!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.