Vampire?

Well it certainly looked like one which has been starved of blood for a very very long time! It is in fact a petrified squirrel found in the roof of a house I visited! I had met builder "Proper Job" the previous day outside the driveway to said house, and discovered he was working on it. It is one of the oldest and largest houses and nearly completely hidden by trees, the glimpses of it's Gothic architecture lending it a certain allure! He invited me up for a tour and the next day up I went! 
The exterior is wonderful, as is the restored Greenhouse with original grape vines, but the interior was bland and soulless, but then they have houses all over the world and this is just an occasional country refuge! Once Proper Job and his team finish they intend to spend more time there. 
I was happily photographing the exterior and chatting to one of the builders - both he and I have lived in the village years and have never met before! he will now need a new identity and relocating! Anyway it was as I was doing this another of the builders asked if I'd seen the stone squirrel - so I looked where he was pointing by the bed near the front door, expecting a garden figure, when he said it was on the window ledge! Well how excited was I !!!! I have no idea if it got stuck in the roof or just died there of natural causes - but it sure looks both petrified and petrified! I will now spend the next week studying its pose as on halloween I am going to The Lost Balls Halloween  Masked Ball at Flambards! Yes I'm going as a vampire - got the blood red lippy and nail varnish already! Hoping to find something tasty to sink my fangs into! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.