wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

Message from mom

It's funny how things crop up. Yesterday morning "wicked early" my sister Dianne and I went to see Mom. For some reason we thought it would be fun to put pumpkins on her grave. So we had to go to two different stores because .......it was Halloween. Pumpkins were gone.
Graveyards are strange. I mean I know she isn't there. Maybe they are just places we can go to remember who they are and what they mean to us. I also left two Reece's peanut cups. It is important to be her favorite after death as well!

After one sister left, another arrived (Laurie) with her wonderful husband (Marc)who was going to install the dishwasher for us. He is a merchant marine and is shipping out on 11/1. Yup that means he spent his last day trying to do the impossible. After 4 hours it was clear it was an all day job. I will call someone else in. The last thing he needed to do was to spend the day doing that. I am so grateful for what he did. Safe travels Marc.
Our band helped Trader Joe's celebrate its 5th birthday in Portland by singing in the store from 11 to 2. What a blast. We had the best time. Always a treat with my bandmates.
It was time to play...."Costume or no Costume." Cue the music
People it was Trader Joes on a Saturday morning in Portland Maine. On any given day the motto of this city is......come as you are......and they did.
Shelly said: "oh look there is a Jedi kind of hobbit kind of thing" I think she was something like that. Ingrid cleared it up for us. I was way too over whelmed. I am afraid the jury  is still out on a man in a buffalo plaid shirt( I have decided I want one ) and a hunting hat with ear flaps ( I don't want one of those) and green wool pants with yellow work boots.
We saw a woman in an evening dress however we are quite sure her "costume" was a walk of shame outfit not planned. (Wicked bad hair) There was a "nerd" ( or was there?) Oh and Frida Kahlo was there carrying a step stool. who knew Frida worked at Trader Joes there were tons of people there.
I have incredible ADD. If I can keep focus, which I did about 80% of the time, I am doing ok.
On a break, (our voices have demanded we take them now....) I looked at the flowers. They have the best flowers. I noticed the cellophane wrap had ladybugs on them. Among my sisters, ladybugs symbolize my Mom.
Nice that she came to Traders to hear me sing! I think it was the Reece's.
Anyway I have rambled. I am going to try to upload another picture......you have to come back if you miss it!
Good evening down under! I think we are now about 16 hours apart! (New Zealand already is in December.........) And as always Good morning to my friends above the equator!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.