Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Slow progress...

The 'show' (Carmen Unwrapped) last night was terrific. I booked ages ago, and vaguely knew it was about the costumes and sets, perhaps a bit like the behind-the-scenes guided tour we did of the Royal Opera House a few years ago. But no! The Festival Theatre was full, and all the understudies were given a whirl on stage - the real leads had a night off.

The compère told us lots of interesting facts about the production. How they got muskets that fired (made them), how they made the campfire with real flames (some kind of gel that didn't produce smoke - bad for opera singers!), how they did the fight scene (like a dance), also snippets of the story with each of the leads getting a solo. It was well worth the £1 ticket price! (As a 'Friend of the Festival Theatre').

Discovered a new (very upmarket) sofa shop in the neighbourhood. Had a good look around, was given a very nice coffee while I sat on all the sofas. Felt like Goldilocks. We are vaguely thinking of new sofas, so I wasn't just taking advantage. Much.

My pal M was coming in the afternoon, with a return visit for coffee and scones. But it was such a dreich day that I lit the fire and refused to move suggested we stay in. Fruit cake and coffee instead.

I read a bit more of my book. No - I tried to read a bit more of my book. But Archie makes it sort of impossible. If I'm sitting on the sofa, then he is always - always - right there beside me, with his head in my lap. Sighing. Or snoring.

Perhaps I can get a good few pages read tomorrow when Bailey and her mum come to take him out to play.

He's a wee bit of a nuisance, in the sweetest possible way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.