Three down, Three to go!

Back to the Nuffield this morning for my third cycle of chemo which is a significant milestone as I'm now half way through! That time has gone really quickly and I really appreciate Alison's company as she comes with me every time and then brings me home - my chemo buddy :-)

I was planning on blipping Magili today, the French lady who gives me my foot massage, but she wasn't there as she's on a course in Manchester, so I thought I'd show you the syringes that I have to have - big aren't they?

I had a couple of strange sensations today, the first was before the chemo drugs and I asked Sue (my nurse) what she'd just given me. She said "have you got an itchy bum?' which I did. She said it was the steroids but it was normal and soon passed, and then with the second chemo drug I got a tingling sensation in my nose - for those of you who are of the same generation as me, I felt like Samantha in Bewitched lol!

Anyway, it all went well, my power port worked ok and I'm feeling great. There's a slight trepidation though now as my drugs change on the next cycle so I don't know what to expect, but both my oncologist and the nurse said that most people are worse on the drugs that I've been having up to now, so fingers crossed!

There was one lady there that was having her final treatment and she looked really well! She wished me luck and gave all the nurses a bottle of champagne each and thank you cards. My turn will come soon and it must be a great feeling, but I feel very elated now as it is!

When we got home Alison came with me to take the boys for a short walk and it started to rain so my wig is a bit frizzy now, just like normal hair would be :-). I also had a visit from my friend Sue, and Alan's home from work early so we're going to have a nice relaxing night - no fireworks for us, although it's very wet and windy so it's not a great night for it!

Have fun if you are going to a bonfire, stay safe and those of you with pets, hope they're OK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.