Sanctuary

Well if I thought yesterday's weather was bad - today has been truly epic*. A good chance to start sorting out Scottish winter kit - the new winter boots stood up to wading through the flooding on the way into the village & I looked marginally happier in head to toe Goretex than the one other solitary dog walker I encountered.

By the time we'd reached the far side of the village & the church a pause was called for - I'm often pleasantly pleased that the Church is able to stay open (I've never seen a soul in it) I think its a reflection of the gentle nature of our village. Despite my differences with organised religion I like churches - they're peaceful contemplative places - so leaving Pushka in the porch (interestingly most church porches are on the South side of the church) I had a wander around inside. Disappointingly (but not all that surprisingly) the Bell Tower is in fact locked - but there is a fascinating display of bells going back to 1650 in the main hall - I nearly blipped those - but I was drawn the symmetry and decoration on these organ pipes.

*& writing this this evening it shows no signs of abating. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.