Balancing act

I had no idea how much extra time, effort and problem solving the sewer repairs it would take me to carry out every day tasks. I'm grateful it's happening but I'll be glad when it's over.

After I biked home from work, I edged my car out of orange cones and went and bought 5 60L bags of mix for the new raised garden. When I got as close as I could to home, I shifted an orange cone and squeezed my car back into a small space.

The guys were all busy on the sewer repairs, so I hauled all 5 bags (unsealed and no spills) out of the boot. It's fair to say I couldn't chuck them around like the woman who served me could.

Just as I was about to wander down and ask the guys for help, one of my neighbours appeared with his sack barrow. Herb had spotted me and thought I could do with a hand. He barrowed the first 2 bags home, and decided to take the other 3 in one go. It was indeed a balancing act.

It took me 1.5 hours to line the macrocarpa with heavy polythene, and spread the 5 bags into the garden. I'm 3-4 bags short so the workmen will get to help me with them before the end of the week :-)

Then I had to tackle the supermarket. I took the bike with back pack option, over the hassle of car and ferrying shopping from car to home.  I was just a little dirty but no one seemed to notice :-)

Just the dishes, make lunch, and have shower, then I can go to bed.

2 more big sleeps until Benedict comes home. All of which means tomorrow night I'll have to do pre-Benedict arrival tasks.

What stuck me more about Jonah Lomu than his rugby, was the way he lived his life. He was humble and gave so much to others. In a world that is often cruel and arrogant, he showed what a difference kindness can make. That is a lesson for all of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.