Stir Up

Cake 1 of 3: the fruit was soaked for 3 days with all ingredients waiting on the work top for this mornings stir up. It's an odd process when making 3 cakes to soak each batch of fruit in relays and to find enough bowls vbig enough. I don't listen to the Archers these days, not since Nigel fell off the roof, but John caught a sentence recently and it was 'Jill' and Stirup Sunday. I don't think I have heard it mentioned other than on the Arches during all those years when we did follow the life of 'simple country folk'. Hmnn what happened to that line I wonder. Anyway cake 1 is cooking slowly and the soaking fruit for cake 2 is on day 2. I expect you are following ..... Or possible drifted off to sleep

Wet and wet here, a good day for baking. Since arriving home I have taken solace in the kitchen, baking - I have a fancy for brioche in various forms, sweet and savoury although not always turning out quite as expected mostly acceptable - chutney, lemoncello and a couple of evenings cooking for friends. All very pleasant.

I have just checked Stir up Sunday:
Stir-up Sunday is an informal term in Anglican churches for the last Sunday before the season of Advent. The Christmas pudding is one of the essential British Christmas traditions and is said to have been introduced to the Victorians by Prince Albert, husband of Queen Victoria.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.