Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Double Trouble

We've had wee Bailey with us for a couple of days while her mum went off jaunting. She's been no bother, but I must say, one wet doggie = a wet doggie-smelling house, and so TWO wet doggies...

JR chose to take them to the Links this morning in torrential rain. It looked set in for the day (though I had a dry-round-the-block walk earlier), and the dogs needed a run as we were lunching in town. They all got to the door, and Archie came running back in to the kitchen, so NOT KEEN was he! But this walk necessitated in a shower and blow dry for each wet and muddy dog when they came back. I must say, Bailey was much better behaved with the hair drier than Archie!

We had booked lunch in town at 20 Princes Street, where we had the epic Sunday Roast a few weeks ago. But this time we could hear the booming muzak as we came along the corridor, and sure enough, it was coming not from the bar, but from the dining room. It was twangy screechy pop music with an electronic beat, possibly for dancing to.

I asked the waiter if it could be turned down a bit, and he said,
'No, it's the 'vibe' we want'.
'Disco?' I asked.
'Yes'.

The room is big and gracious, with chandeliers and lovely furniture. More a tinkling piano 'vibe' I would have thought. Or even - a peaceful 'vibe' with nothing. I asked to speak to the manager.

'I am the manager.'

So we left.

And we found a smashing wee place that JR knew about - Iris in Thistle Street and had three courses and a delicious three hour lunch with an ex-colleague, the muzak being unobtrusive. Gosh I do love hearing about the trials and tribulations of teaching!

I think if more people complained, unwanted inappropriate background music - the phenomenon of the personal choice of a 25 year 'manager' being foisted on everyone else - would soon be a thing of the past.

I wasn't tempted to have a wander round the Christmas Market - even though the afternoon turned out sunny! I came home for the dogs, who nearly knocked me over when I came in, but we're all toiletted and relaxing on the sofas now. Pity I had to miss Murray's match today, but I followed the results on the phone. Well done UK, though Belgium deserved some good news this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.