Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Domestic chores

A pottering about day, doing domestic chores and getting into the spirit of Christmas, which for me, mainly consists of surfing websites, lusting after a Kindle Voyage. There are many many times when I'd like to read when awake in the wee sma' hours. The wee clip-on light I bought a while ago is completely impractical - it's as bright as a lighthouse beam! And anyway my Kindle has to be read in good light even in the lounge. Have I convinced myself? It would be sensible, of course, to wait till after Christmas now.

Hung up some more Christmas lights. Here's a wee tip to retain your budding Christmas cheer - always check that lights are actually working before you measure, nail (teeny tiny ones) and string them along the dresser, sellotaping the wires tidily all the way along the skirting board to the plug. Grrrr!

Archie and I went for a dizzying run around the back green. Then we had a shower, though mine was accidental.

We have mice. Being on the ground floor this is inevitable. I have tried all sorts of traps and bait. The best option of course, is a cat, but we can't get one. They were the cause of many of Archie's midnight barks. But now he doesn't sleep in the kitchen...

I opened up a big bag of dog food which is stored in the hoover cupboard, only to find that Mr Mouse and his family have been having a whale of a time helping themselves. Mind you, there's plenty for everyone, but I don't think we'll buy in bulk again!

Fortunately, I discovered this in the kitchen, and had already shut Archie out, because there on the floor was a flattened, very dead, mouse, having fallen out of the huge bag. Eeek!

Rugby on TV this afternoon (go Wales!) after a morning of frenetic activity. Archie and I are on the sofa in readiness. JR has abandoned her cooking to go off and procure replacement lights. Not sure I'm ready to tackle that task again so soon...

Emergency blip - flowers plonked arranged tastefully on the oven top.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.