World Class

Waverley is the last seagoing passenger carrying paddle steamer in the world. Built in 1946, she sailed from Craigendoran on the Firth of Clyde to Arrochar on Loch Long until 1973. Purchased by the Paddle Steamer Preservation Society, she has been restored to her 1947 appearance.

I arrived safely, eventually with the parentals at lunchtime...but had an adventure on the way when the wheel arch bit of my car came flying off!! I ran over it and sent a big chunk of mangled plastic onto the motorway. Thankfully it was quiet on the M8 when it happened, but what an massive bang it made. I thought I'd had a blow out but realised the steering was still in tact. I hope it didn't cause anyone any mischief...

I pulled over and checked - to find the remainder of the wheel arch hanging off. It didn't seem to be interfering with the tyre so I kept going...I stopped off at Arnold Clark Accident and Repair Centre in Port Glasgow and two very obliging and caring gents took the remainder of the arch off and sent me on my way. How kind! The age of chivalry and damsel in distress sums it up really!

Watched the epic Murray / Baghdatis match with my folks - brilliant viewing and great result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.