CharlieBrown

By CharlieBrown

Good Grief 95

Strange times these.
Lovely early morning sky .. I hadn't slept much but I felt relieved that I had got the house looking less like the home of the reclusive hermit. I was impressed I'd managed to make a decent looking meal and bread that looked proper!
I got to work and have been 'granted' the time off between Christmas and New Year. If feels grudging and lacking in kindness - there have been no kind or compassionate words.
My friend texted to say he and his partner had got the fire lit and were settled in. It is a strange sensation for me now to come home from work and to see the lights on and a cosy fire and the offer of 'tea, or wine'.
A feeling of close connection has become very strange for me.
My friend and I talked into the night about ageing and where we felt we would feel safe when life changes catch up with us.
I didn't sleep well. I'm not used to anyone else around and the rain was hammering down outside.
But I was so touched by my homemade Christmas present - what a great gift of crafted love and affection. We have endured long, difficult and life changing times and live at opposite ends of the country.
They headed off today (Tuesday).
A very short time but I am left with a great feeling of gratitude, not just for the time spent, the beautiful gift, or even for the enduring friendship .. but for something else which I can't quite define ... some sense of two souls in time that don't fit any of the usual conventional definitions and the strange evolution that has taken place. It is a relief to have someone so close who has not died.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.