Bristolwood and Beyond

By bristolwood

Aha! Captured!

I don't know if it is the same butterfly, but each day for the past three days, I have tried to photograph a Monarch that suddenly appears from the woods, dips and dives around the Milkweed growing on the back hill, then flutters away...back up into the woods.

This has been a frustrating game, to say the least, and it has brought me to a point where sheer determination has finally prevailed!

I spotted the bugger out on the hill early this afternoon. I called to Son and asked if he could bring me the Nikon. He rushed down with camera in hand. I hurried out the back door, slowly approaching my fluttering subject. It seems this butterfly is quite timid and movement will send it back into the woods!

With telephoto lens mounted, I followed the butterfly through the eyepiece, not taking my face away from the camera. (No wonder the little bugger is frightened?)
I snapped a grand total of five photos. Two were "okay" and three were totally out of focus.

And so, although not so great, I did capture my butterfly in mid air! Aha! Blip!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.