Sunday: Adopting Mario

It's been a while since we went to Mirogoj Cemetery.  We have been meaning to go for a while as we have been wanting to adopt an untended grave.  I tell you, it's much harder than you think!  We found quite a few this morning and contemplated back and forth.  We have settled on a family, namely Mario (who died in 1985), his wife, Nevenka, and their son, Drasko, who died in 1980 at the age of 27.  Both Mario and Drasko were engineers, and nobody seems to be looking after them so we are going to do it.  Both Mario and Drasko have busts on their grave so I am sure you will meet them in due course.  It was the busts that persuaded us, we can imagine who we are looking after.  

We then went down to Britanski Square for a spot of lunch and a drink.  While we were there, we bumped into a guy called Goran who I have met a few times through work.  We also got chatting to an Irish expat, Sean, who has been here for 9 years and had a drink with him.  I was also saying to K. last night that it has taken me this long but I am now starting to feel really comfortable in our flat.  Things feel like they are really starting to come together and connections, beyond work, are slowly starting to be made.

Bear with me while I play with this HDR thing for a while - it's something a little different  Quite how much I will stick with it, I don't know yet.

180

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.