Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Cake-less

Camila"s dog borrowing day, though the weather did not look promising. We cancelled by text early on, then an hour or so later she messaged to ask again. She's very keen. So I relented and put his coat on and Camila appeared at the gate, much to Archie's delight. They set off to her house in a taxi! I hurriedly texted her to have a poo bag at the ready in case he was sick.

I considered my options:
* the Museum - haven't been there for ages
* the January Turner exhibition - I remember it being down loads of stairs (though probably a lift available)
*James Bond on Senior Screen - but I feared another Star Wars episode ie the entire world loves it, but I'd think it's rubbish even if I did score a free cuppa
* several exhibitions at St Margaret's House
* The Big Short, which won, mainly because of timings, and handiness.

It's not one I'd make a big effort to go to, but it was an interesting but hopelessly complicated topic - the financial crash of 2008. I didn't like the shaky camera work, the extremely loud heavy metal music, constant swearing, the characters suddenly talking to camera, Ryan Gosling's wig, and I didn't laugh once, though the reviews said it was hilariously funny.

Unfortunately it was on in one of the smaller cinemas that I hadn't been in before - the screen was the entire length of the room, but there were only about five or six rows of seats. And it was busy, so I was in the front row. Which meant I had to lie flat out, head tilted back on my seat, and gaze up at faces the size of houses, mostly stubbly. Not pleasant. No wonder I closed my eyes for periods.

After the film, I popped in to what used to be a favourite cafe, but is now a gaming place where grown men play complicated games using wee Star Wars type figures. Nobody was playing. There is a rather nice coffee and cake part, which I've always been meaning to try, so I stood and gazed at the cakes for some minutes. Nobody came to serve me. There was a young lady eating a panini, and I assumed she was the owner, on a lunch break. I wandered over to the games, had a look around, came back to the cakes and examined them further. I examined the coffee machine and the price list (cheap flat whites). I looked around and she was still eating and did not look up. So I took a photo of the wall and left, cake-less. Probably just as well.

We picked up Archie in the car later, so he didn't have to get wet walking home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.