Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Cold fingers!

Gosh, that was cold one! Sparkling blue sky, no wind, but only about 3°! For the first time this winter, I was sorry that I hadn't worn a glove on my walking stick hand. It was perishing on the shady side of the street! But I have a neat wee iPhone case I use when outside, so that I will never ever drop my phone while taking photos, even if my fingers are freezing.

Anne came round to take Archie out, while JR headed to Morningside and I set off to my physio. Anne sent a photo from the Meadows (extra).

I haven't made any knee improvements for many weeks now. And I've been doing my exercises constantly. I got a bright pink strip of tape up the back of my leg, like sports people. Not quite sure what it does, but it might help my naughty hamstring. I think I really do need to return to the gym and get on the bike and do some leg strengthening stuff. Next week.

It was such a beautiful day that I got off the bus in town and had a wee wander. The Gardens are not looking their best, as the the grass, which was ruined during the 'Winter Wonderland' has yet to be replaced.

But the obligatory piper was there, with gloves on. I gave him a few coins and he asked what tune I'd like him to play. 'Highland Cathedral, please'. Which he did, and it always brings tears to my eyes, even more so when there are a few bum notes...

Home to light the fire, listen to another chapter of my book (which included a hilarious family visit to London Zoo - gosh, he writes so well, which is why the constant 'I was sat" really really grates) and await Anne and Archie's return.

We'll do another couple of episodes of Stanger Things on (Anne's) Netflix this evening.

Saw a tiny bunch of snowdrops in the Meadows today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.