FarmerGirl

By FarmerGirl

The Kea have returned

For the past couple of weeks we've been hearing the squawking of Kea, but haven't been able to photograph them as they have been high in the trees.

Tonight they were squawking again, so I went out with my camera and saw them in the paddock beside our house.  There were two of them, flying around and landing on posts and bird boxes.  I took a lot of photo's, and have included some in my extras.   The colour under their wings is so beautiful.   

We're trying not to encourage these birds to come around our house, as they are well known for destruction - anything they think looks interesting and shiny they will try and destroy.  I love having them around, but would love it more if they keep their distance!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.