photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 29 of 366 - St John the Baptist Church!

Today's image was taken this afternoon in the village of Berkswell. It is a view of St John the Baptist parish Church. This 12th century Grade I listed building is of Norman design. There is evidence though of an even earlier Saxon church on this site, as part of the crypt beneath the church dates back to the 8th century. Also in view in front of the church is a wayside preaching cross. The cross itself was restored about 30 years ago, however the stone steps are said to date back to Saxon times and predate the church. The preaching cross is a scheduled ancient monument.

The photo was taken using the App VividHDR on my iPhone 6.

First I used the app Lightroom to edit the photo. I straightened the image and applied some noise reduction and clarity. I also added to the vibrance, saturation and contrast. Next I used the app Handy Photo to delete the overhead telephone cable and the small lights from along the pathway. After this I used Distressed FX to add the Stirred overlay and Lade texture. Finally I used PhotoToaster to add the Canvas texture and the Burlap frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.