Looking at a new jacket

With the traumas of yesterday behind us, today was more tranquil. We walked out to Cotswold outdoor shop to pick up some reproofing liquid for our walking trousers for next week in the Lakes, but of course, it's difficult to pass by and opportunity to look at all the products on display even if you're not in the market for a new jacket.

This one looks very nice indeed, a little longer than they usually come, warm and cozy, waterproof and breathable and a nice price too at £150. Reluctantly, I think, it was put back on the hanger.

Thank you everyone who responded to yesterday's blip of the crumpled car. Their sentiments were very similar, only bits of metal and no lives were endangered. It was annoying and I still want to get to the bottom of what happened to satisfy myself as to whether I could have done anything to avoid the crash and see what there is to learn.

One aspect which really did annoy me was the way the AA put me directly through to an Accident Management Company called ClaimFast who kept me on the phone for 40 minutes at the scene and refused to call me back when at home. Apparently they wanted me to sign up for a credit agreement, there and then on the hard shoulder just after an accident, which would provide me with a courtesy car and manage all the repairs or writing off of the car at no cost to me and reclaim their costs from the other parties.

It sounded too good to be true so when I got home I did some research and my, their business model is appalling as are their processes. They make all their profit out of extortionate courtesy car charges. I told them I was not going to be involved and would be dealing with my own insurance company.

The day ended well with a good conversation with Chris and De'Shaun in California who moved from La Jolla to San Marcos yesterday. With FaceTime we were able to see their new house and also see that it was raining over there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.