Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Almond Blossom

At the stroke of midnight tonight I will have been living here for exactly one fifth of my life. I say that because Tuesday 2nd Feb is half a day short and Wednesday 3rd Feb is half a day over. This is what leap years do to normal counting. If I am lucky I will reach the point where I have lived here for half my life, but I think that is unlikely.

I love the pale pink of almond blossom against the pale silvery green of olive leaves. Almond blossom ranges between almost white and quite dark pink. Hopefully this tree will be putting on a better performance shortly but we are forecast some bad weather so I thought I would catch it before it was lost.

We used to have a marvellous tree outside the kitchen window with the most spectacular blossom and I used to enjoy watching little birds hopping about in it's branches while I was washing up. The tree died suddenly and now I have the spectacular view of islands in the sea with mountains beyond as I wash up. It's a hard life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.