twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

A day out; my run of precisely one dry day whilst being out ended as abruptly as it started; rain battering off the window around 5 which led to a fitful final hour of sleep before I got up and logged on.

I was going to collect the car and drive, but the garage said nope; bike it was. To be fair it was more cold than wet, but then - I forgot my gloves, so...

All the way to Wester Hailes, then onwards to Bonaly  - and with a tail wind to shove me along I then headed for Southhouse. By lunchtime I'd clocked up nearly 20 miles. But it's all down hill from up there; to civilisation (the New Town) where I bumped into someone I know through the job; he told me of the famous person who'd just bought the house next to the one I was at.

Leith next; then a school run on a bus and finally home to warm my hands on a cup or three of tea whilst I accepted the invitation to interview on Thursday.

After a snooze power nap, I hit Lidl for supplies ahead of the boys coming and finally ate late and that was Tuesday. Good to be out on the bike, though. Even in crap weather. And even then - the last hour wiped away the memory of much of the day; the Balmoral looked resplendent in the late afternoon sun; all low and golden and picking all the details with the shadows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.