What a view

The kids had their third and final ski lesson this morning. Somehow Olivia managed to persuade the others and the instructor to take them up in a chairlift. We were quite surprised as Dex and M really didn't seem ready but it turns out that they all loved it and managed it with no difficulty. They were all awarded ski medals from the teacher which will be cherished, I'm sure.
During the kids' lesson Neil and M's Dad went off to do some super scary skiing on the other side of the mountain, M's Mum went for a walk around the cute little town as she didn't fancy skiing and I set myself the task of becoming more comfortable on my skis and set out on my own. I found a nice slope which challenged me without terrifying me and went up and down using the drag lift lots and lots of times. I did get distracted at one stage as I watched the Japanese ski team doing Slalom training at unbelievable speed - they were amazing to watch!

After lunch both of our kids were super keen to go up the chair lift again with us to show us what they could do. As it was a different one to the one I went on yesterday I decided to go with them, after all if a five and eight year old could do it after three lessons then surely so could I.

How wrong I was. The steepness at the top was horrible but both kids were utterly fearless and didn't hesitate. I fell and tumbled my way down the first bit and hubby and kids waited for me at the three quarter way point! Once I'd caught up they all sped ahead of me and patiently waited for me at the bottom!
Hubby had actually filmed me during the day, and when we watched the footage we all roared with laughter! In my head I felt like I was going much faster but in the video I was going painfully slow and at one point it looks like I'm trying to ski up the hill!

After that we tried a bit of sledging before going for a wonder through the town which was very cute. We enjoyed another huge meal before heading home to pack as we leave tomorrow.

Perhaps skiing isn't my sport but we've all had such a good time that I have a feeling we'll be enjoying this type of holiday again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.