The Sky for Mine

But were it told to me - Today -
That I might have the sky
For mine - I tell you that my Heart
Would split, for size of me -


Emily Dickinson's poem talks about what it was like before "I got my eye put out" and how she feels that now, if she could see again, she'd not be able to bear the glory of it. Made me think about how shockingly ungrateful I am to be able, every day, to "have the sky for mine", and the meadows, mountains, forests, stintless stars, noon, dipping birds, amber roads - "for mine - to look at when I liked". Most days I don't even look properly and, if not for Blip, would look even less.

This sky is in Évora , where we went today to book complicated tickets, though made easier in the end by suddenly making the decision that we'll take our British car back, and get ourselves a Portuguese car - the bureaucracy is too complicated (16 bits of paper to be acquired and paid for) to import it, added to the steering wheel being on the wrong side.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.