photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 55 of 366 - The War Memorial!

Today's image was taken in the War Memorial Park in Coventry. It is a view of the War Memorial monument. This Grade II* listed structure was built in 1927 after a public appeal raised the money needed to pay for the construction. The monument was dedicated by Field Marshal Haig on its completion. There is a room inside the memorial that is called the Chamber of Silence. This room contains the Roll of the Fallen book that lists service personnel from Coventry that were killed during Times of conflict, including the Two World Wars and the more recent Gulf War. This room is open to the public each year on Remembrance Sunday.

The photo was taken using the App ExposerGL on my iPhone 6.

First I used the app Snapseed to edit the picture. I cropped the image to centre the monument, then I applied the Tonal Contrast and the HDR scape filters. Next I used Mextures to apply the preset filter Darker Days by Ryan Olde. I then used DistressedFX to add the Lily overlay and the Sentiment texture. I finally used the app AltPhoto to add the Expired (pink highlights) Toy Camera frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.