The ties that bind

I've never really had a strong bond to the concept of family - I guess an unhappy childhood and a dysfunctional home life is an easy, admittedly too easy, explanation -it's fair to say that whilst I know I've had strong bonds with some of them, my mother, my paternal grandfather - I've never really missed not knowing cousins - and even my sister & I are virtual strangers. From an early age I've placed far more importance on my friends - I've learnt to enjoy the company of others, as often said - I've appreciated fully the people I've chosen to have in my life.
Whilst the heat of our recent family history did temporarily strengthen some bonds - contrary as I am I didn't want that to be the reason to interact with people I'd not seen or heard from in decades - nor did I want it to become the core of our relationships moving forward - its a scar we will & should always acknowledge - but it can't be the glue that holds us together.
This weekend I've had my brother to stay - we were close when we were younger - drifted for a while - but are firmly friends now & its great to spend time with him & his wife - unexpectedly we also got a visit from our Aunt & Uncle - sat round the table having an impromptu Sunday Lunch I drifted in & out of the conversation - really just happy noise - grateful and glad to have these people in my life. I'm still not sure that the genetic link to them really means much to me - but the shared history - the laughing, crying, joking & knowing - I'm glad I've learnt to feel the worth of that - these are people I'd choose to have in my life - and I'm richer for it.
Once they'd all gone it seemed only right to go and see the other member of our family in the nursing home & share some laughter with her too. On the drive back we stopped at Storth to admire this wonderful sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.