Oooh...to be 5...Part Two

We just left the first of our Easter egg hunts. One today, and one on the morrow. In addition to the egg hunt, there were bounce houses, face painting, hot dogs and chips, 2 kiddie rides, cotton candy, and sno-cones.

I shouldn't have, but I had a little planning session with Merrick right before they dropped the ropes for the egg hunt. "Listen Buddy, all these other kids will go right for the closest eggs. Go directly to the middle, and then...and then...PICK LIKE THE WIND!!" He did, and quickly filled up his basket. (Of course, all the kids filled their baskets, too.)

I always struggle with what we have done to our 2 religious holidays. It seems like Easter has turned into the Easter bunny, and Christmas has turned into presents. Other than trying to explain the importance of each day...I don't know what else to do about it.

Both hunts are put on by churches, so I guess we'll just enjoy the "hunt."

The problems of the morning? Merrick met a new little friend, but she was 9, and he is 5, so he couldn't hunt for eggs with her. (They bunch kids together by age.) And, the final group (the 2 year olds) didn't get to hunt because inclement weather rolled in. (90 minutes later, and it is still raining.)

Now, I'm going to try to distract him...so...I...can...steal...some...candy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.