Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Cake!

JR had her first 'Hen Party' last night - complete with 'Hen Party' sashes and silly games. 'Hen Parties' are a relativley new phenomenon, and they can be rather scary for innocent onlookers. This one was quite sensible, though it may have deteriorated later on, after JR left.

This morning I took Archie out about 8am, and was delighted to see that the haar, which has been with us for days down the whole east coast, has lifted! Sure enough, it has turned out to be a glorious spring day. In fact, I took my hat off while up the Hill - a sure sign!

I went back to bed after our early walk, and did not rise until after midday. JR went to the gym, then brought me breakfast (brunch) in bed.

Bailey and her mum asked about Archie's delayed birthday party, so we found out if Rufus can come, and it's all on for tomorrow!

We decided to get a cake with his photo on it, just for a laugh, and nipped out to a huge unfamiliar Asda. How easy it was - just transfer a photo from the phone, wait ten minutes while they print it onto the icing and bingo!

We then took Archie up the Hill, and what a glorious afternoon it was - the first really warm day. We met Dave the fox terrier, who was on the longest lead I have ever seen. Dave would head for the hills if he saw a rabbit, and so could not be let off. I am so glad that Archie doesn't know what a rabbit is.

I sat on a bench and took photos for tourists, while JR and Archie went on up to the top of the Hill. My knees just cannot manage up steep hills or steps yet.

Back in time for three games of rugby (Archie and I) and planning (human) party food (JR). We haven't told Archie about tomorrow - he wouldn't be able to sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.