Continuos Professional Development

Another day, another city and another meeting.

Down to Manchester today to attend the inaugural Technical Advisors meeting. I'm not yet a TA so I was very pleased to be invited and asked to contribute to what potentially could come to be the start of a key development in the indoor climbing sector. Currently we are mainly well intentioned sole operators working with lifestyle employees all doing their best, but we know we need to move towards a goal of a mature industry sharing knowledge of best practice and offering career pathways - today egos, 'trade secrets' and personal agendas were left at the door - as first meetings go it was a fantastic start.
Some of the UK's best respected operators and policy makers were there....and me. I've a long journey to go to become a TA, but the discussions today were so informative and inspirational that it's helped refocus me on where I want to be heading with my own development. Being able to hold my own (just!) in some of the discussion was great - but realising how much I still need to master was even better.

Heard on the radio this morning:
"Take God's hint. Two ears, one mouth".
Sage advice, helped a lot today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.