Proud Weegie

By Shiv

...our daily bread....

I was messing about with some Irish Family history sites and received a lovely email from a researcher who will pass me a photocopy of my grandmother's wedding lines. I'm very excited ! I've been working on my father's family tree but the irish side is a bit of a challenge !

Mum gave me some notes but she wasn't sure about her maternal grandmother - maybe the marriage cert will give me a start!

Tonight I made some Lentil and Bacon soup and some Soda Bread for No 1 and No 2's lunch tomorrow. I love making bread - but this time the dough was a bit wet.

Nonetheless it's already half gone.

Always reminds me of my mum making Soda Bread - and her telling me you had to make the 'sign of the cross' by cutting it before you cook it. I always thought it was an Irish thing - but more likely it was to help it cook evenly in the middle!

Anyway after all the bran in the bread and the lentils in the soup - not sure we'll have many friends tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.