Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A Wet Walk

Another 9am toilet walk (for Archie!) - Not too bad for a weekend/holiday morning. Now that I know he can hang on for hours.

After a lazy morning, during which I summoned enough energy to whizz over him with the clippers, I then decided to take him up the Hill. JR has a(nother) cold, and stayed in bed. But I hadn't looked out. The weak sunshine of earlier in the day had turned to drizzle. I considered going back in, but it's impossible to explain to an eager dog that the walk is postponed. I just hoped it might ease off.

It did not. We were both soaked. And of course, there were not many daft folk out dog walking. We did meet a lady with two shih tzus, and we had a good chat (under her umbrella) about keeping beards from turning brown, and where to take her daughters who were visiting for the weekend. I recommended the Secret Garden, walk along the shore, and pop in to Gosford House, which we did a week or so ago. Though in wet weather it wouldn't be quite so pleasant.

We also met Bobby, a big Alsatian cross, with eyes like a wolf, who was very gentle with this little persistent rat-like creature who kept jumping up at his face.

When I say we went 'up the Hill' - I just actually shuffle slowly up the gentle slope - not actually 'up the Hill'. But Archie has a good run around. Usually, I spot another dog well before he does, and I ask him, 'Where's the doggy?' and he goes into search mode, excitedly scanning the horizon in all directions, his whole body jumping round each time, until he spots them, or more usually, the owner. Then he's off. Though he always crouches down to observe them carefully before going to meet and greet.

Right. It's an afternoon for treats, possibly of the chocolate bunny variety, in front of the fire and the TV. There are so many good series on at the moment, and I haven't even started the second series of 'Better Call Saul' on Netflix.

I read that 'they' are considering fixing the date of Easter. What a very good idea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.