FarmerGirl

By FarmerGirl

Stock Bridge

I picked up my father-in-law this afternoon, and toured up the Tutaki Valley for a look to see what I could find to blip today. I took many pictures of the river, however it is still running a dirty colour following all the rain we had a couple of days ago.

Having been born and lived in the Murchison area all his life, my father-in-law has a wealth of information about the history of the area. He told me about this swing bridge that I have blipped today. It sits over the Mangles River. Apparently a farmer used to move stock from one side of the river to the other, by using this bridge.

When I went onto the bridge, you could feel it 'swinging', and it was awfully slippery. I would have loved to have seen stock being moved over the bridge - it would have been an awesome sight.

It is so nice to see the sun this afternoon - even if we aren't getting a lot of warmth from it. Makes a change from the last couple of days of rain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.